More maths prizes at ICM2010

In an earlier post I had mentioned about some great prizes for maths, announced in the ICM2010 conference. I have now discovered two more awards. Strangely, the ICM2010 website posted this information in an obscure location, separately. Of course, the Indian Press was blissfully ignorant of all this, since they were busy covering the achievements of our politicians.

O. May Prize for the History of Mathematics: Prof. Radha Charan Gupta is the first Indian to be awarded the Kenneth O. May Prize for the History of Mathematics.

The Prize is named after the mathematician and historian Kenneth
O. May founder of the International Commission for the History
of Mathematics and its journal Historia Mathematica. The prize,
instituted in 1989, consists of a bronze medal and is given once
in four years in appreciation of a mathematician's scholarly work
in the history of mathematics.

Leelavati Award : Simon Lehna Singh, the well-known
physicist-turned British author, journalist and TV producer, who
specializes in popular writing on mathematical and scientific
topics, has been chosen for the Leelavati Award that has been
instituted for outstanding contributions to public outreach in
mathematics by an individual. Dr. Simon Singh is the author of
two best-selling books:: Fermat's last theorem, The code book.